Skip to main content

Topic: Buddy Holly's YJ (Read 41134 times)

• Rucas
  • [*]
  • Staff
  • Currently Unsupervised
Buddy Holly's YJ
I've never done a build thread before but I thought it might be neat to document the evolution of me and my jeep for future years to come. I will try to be detailed with my posts and have lots of pics.

But first I have to play catch up  ;D

The Jeep is 95 YJ that came into my family in 2010. My father bought it as a cheap, reliable, and easy to repair vehicle that would get him back and forth to work (boy was he wrong about the reliable and cheap part  [laugh]). It was in great cosmetic shape; the PO was a detail freak and used armor all like it was going out of style. At that point it had a 2" body lift, stock springs with add-a-leafs which rode horrible and 32" street tires. It was bone stock otherwise. After my dad drove it around a while I finally convinced him to take the jeep offroad. This is where I caught the bug. I beat the ever living snot out of the poor little jeep on multiple trips until I blew the poor ax5 up twice- once while wheeling and the remanufactured one gave up the ghost a week after installation.

Fast forward to 2013. The Jeep began to have oil pressure issues. 3psi of oil pressure at idle wasn't going to cut it. So we yanked the motor out and to our surprise the hungry little 4banger had eaten that cam bearings and wore the main bearings down to the copper. After a lot of headache and a little money the engine was back up and running in August three days before I started college. Somewhere in there I put on an LOD rear bumper and tire carrier and stubbied the front bumper.

I went wheeling:

Top of Daniel (my father photobombing):

And tore the fender flares off by accident. It looked great before this: