Skip to main content

Topic: full hydro steering on trail and street driven rig (Read 265 times)

• LowJ
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
  • Wheel every damn day.
full hydro steering on trail and street driven rig
Full hydro steering on a rig that is probably 50/50 street and trail, aka driven to the trailhead and wheeled and back home.  Thoughts?  Experience? Why is this a good idea or not?  Thanks.
16 Toyota Tacoma, 87 MJ Chief

• Mulvihill64
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Re: full hydro steering on trail and street driven rig
Reply #1
Full hydro steering on a rig that is probably 50/50 street and trail, aka driven to the trailhead and wheeled and back home.  Thoughts?  Experience? Why is this a good idea or not?  Thanks.

If you are doing any amount of highway driving, I would shy away from full hydro. I'll admit I have no personal experience with it but since orbital valves don't have a true center, having to constantly correct on the highway sounds like a pain. One workaround I did like was this pic that @UhhhWinski posted in his thread a while back.

- Sean

... and the 8th simple machine: a bigger hammer.

Follow me on IG! Mulvihill64

• janesy
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Reply #2
To me, full hydro has no place on a street driven vehicle. Should have a mechanical aspect to it, in case of an issue with the hydraulics.
Follow me on Instagram: @nick.janes.bitch

• Jankoid
  • [*]
  • Staff
  • Warrior of Sunlight
Reply #3
I wouldn't run full hydro even on a dedicated trail rig. My biggest complaint is that if the motor isn't running, you can't steer, period. Couple years back I saw a buggy with full hydro break an alternator pulley. No fan belt meant no steering. It had to sit there in the middle of the trail over night while a replacement was found. With mechanical steering we could've just pulled it off the trail and back to the trail head.
  • Last Edit: Nov 02, 2016, 01:40 PM by Jankoid

• jeepster1407
  • [*][*][*][*][*]
Reply #4